Q&A and Errata - ATD

2025.10.15

Hello, Rulers!

We've received many questions lately regarding certain interactions between old cards and new ones, and about the improper functioning of certain cards. Thanks to our rule experts, we, the development team, have compiled all these questions in this article, answering them.

Let’s have a look.



Makoto Cloth Corps' Ritualist (TSR-007)



Question: If I control exactly one Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist, I don’t control a wind J/ruler, and my opponent plays two non-resonator spells the same turn, will the <Strong Beliefs> ability be applied to both of those spells or only to the first one?

Answer: To both spells. <Strong Beliefs> is not an activate or automatic ability: is a continuous ability gained by players. So, it is not applied to any specific number of non-resonator spells or abilities, it is applied to all players, granting them abilities. Any other way to check it, is not the way it should be ruled.

·         If a player controls exactly one Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist (and doesn’t control a wind J/ruler), and no other player controls a Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist, each player in the game will gain once “As an additional cost to play a non-Martial Art, non-resonator spell, pay [1]." and once "As an additional cost to play an activate ability, pay [1].”.

·         If a player controls exactly two Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist (and doesn’t control a wind J/ ruler), and no other player controls a Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist, each player in the game will gain twice “As an additional cost to play a non-Martial Art, non-resonator spell, pay [1]." and twice "As an additional cost to play an activate ability, pay [1].”.

·         If a player controls exactly three Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist (and doesn’t control a wind J/ ruler), and no other player controls a Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist, each player in the game will gain twice “As an additional cost to play a non-Martial Art, non-resonator spell, pay [1]." and twice "As an additional cost to play an activate ability, pay [1].”, as only two <Strong Beliefs> abilities can be applied per player each turn.

·         If a player controls exactly three Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist (and doesn’t control a wind J/ ruler), and another player controls exactly three Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist (and doesn’t control a wind J/ ruler), each player in the game will gain four times “As an additional cost to play a non-Martial Art, non-resonator spell, pay [1]." and four times "As an additional cost to play an activate ability, pay [1].”, two from the Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist resonators of player A, and two from the Makoto Cloth Corps’ Ritualist resonators of player B, as two <Strong Beliefs> abilities can be applied per player each turn.



Manifested Paradoxical Maiden (Card DRC-085)




Question: When the [Enter] effect of this card cancels an ability of a resonator, specifically an [Enter], if the player controlling that resonator plays another copy of that resonator, what will happen with that card’s [Enter] effects?

Answer: As long as the Manifested Paradoxical Maiden that cancelled the [Enter] of the resonator is in the field, other copies of that resonator will trigger their [Enter] effects, but as automatic abilities are also played by their controller, and the Maiden says that players cannot play abilities from sources that share a name with the canceled ability's source, they won’t be played as it is prohibited by the continuous effect of the Maiden.



Rehka, Songstress of Dawn and Dusk (ATD-007)




Question: If I banish Rehka as a cost to pay the activation cost of the ability of The Nine-Tailed Fox, as the order of banishing cards is “Banish a wind resonator, a darkness resonator, and an entity named “Killing Stone”, will Rehka be in the graveyard in time to trigger its own [Necrobloom] ability?

Answer: No. Even if the costs are paid sequentially (top to bottom, left to right), and effects are resolved sequentially as well, all parts of a single action, usually indicated by a verb listed in the “Action by Rules” section of the CR, are happening at the same time.

So, there is a difference in timing between “Banish a wind resonator, a darkness resonator, and an entity named “Killing Stone” and “Banish a wind resonator, banish a darkness resonator, and banish an entity named “Killing Stone”. The first will do a single banish action with three different cards, the second will do three banish actions in the listed order.

And as the ability of The Nine-Tailed Fox is a single banish action, Rehka won’t be in the graveyard in time to trigger its own [Necrobloom] ability when the Killing Stone is banished.



Cards with automatic abilities that trigger from hidden areas




Question: Can a player trigger the <Time for a Picnic!> ability of this card from their hand (assuming that the hand is a hidden zone in that moment of the game), then show the text of this card, and in resolution (while the text of this card is still being shown) declare that they have no cards to put into the field with <Time for a Picnic!>, as the hand is still a hidden zone?

Answer: No. Players are not forced to reveal a card that has an automatic ability that triggers from a hidden area, as those triggers are optional. So, by triggering the automatic ability they made the choice to show the card to play its automatic ability, making sure all players know the card is in the correct area to trigger the ability. If, in resolution, the player tries to assert that the card is not in that area, it would be considered:

·         Stalling, an action punishable by the rules, since that player would be trying to hinder the progress of the tournament voluntarily.

·         Incorrect, since the source of the automatic ability is shown until the automatic ability itself leaves the chase area, which has not yet happened.

In this situation, the “fail to find” concept doesn’t apply. “Fail to find” is only applied to the actions explained in rule 1014, “Choose/Look & Reveal/Search”. None of these Action by Rules verbs is “show”, and/if/or none of them are used in the effect text of the automatic ability, the “fail to find” concept does not apply.

To make this clarification easier to apply and understand, we are updating sections 302.2d and 906.6c of the Comprehensive Rules, effective immediately:

Rule 302.2d. Cards revealed or shown to all players in a hidden area are considered public information for effects and abilities.

Rule 906.6c. When playing the automatic ability of a card in a hidden area, the source of that ability (and all information of the source) is considered public information until the ability leaves the chase area. Show the source of the automatic ability being played to all players until the ability in question leaves the chase area. This does not count as revealing that card. If the source moves to another hidden area before the automatic ability leaves the chase area, it stays “shown” also in the new area until the ability leaves the chase area.



Lunar Protective Lifeform (TSR-003)




We have been informed that the first option of this card was being used in phases outside the battle phase, which was not the intention of the card. While it was a correct application of the rules from all judges that have ruled it that way, it was not the intention of the development team (or the way it should read for rule experts). So, we are applying an errata with immediate effect to Lunar Protective Lifeform:

New Text

Choose two;
- Remove target attacking or blocking non-Golem resonator from battle. Resonators sharing an attribute with the chosen target cannot attack until end of turn. Draw a card.
- Until end of turn, non-battle damage that would be dealt to you or to J/resonators you control by sources you don't control becomes 0 instead.
- You gain 1500 life.



Tsuki-hime, Gears Princess of the Moon (CMB-084)




We have been informed that the most recent printing of this card (ABC-SD11-057) doesn’t work as the original card worked. There is a minor difference between the two of them.

Original CMB-084 card text

·         At the beginning of each player's turn >>> If you control six or more Treasury Item entities with different names, all Treasury Item entities you control become [1000/1000] resonators until end of turn. They are still their original type. Then J/resonators you control gain [+1000/+1000] until end of turn.

ABC 2024 ABC-SD11-057 card text

·         At the beginning of each player's turn >>> If you control six Treasury Item entities with different names, all Treasury Item entities you control become [1000/1000] resonators until end of turn. They are still their original type. J/resonators you control gain [+1000/+1000] until end of turn.

When we were creating the syntax we use now, we removed many instances of “then” at the beginning of sentences, because for the English translation it was not used consistently enough to communicate causality. Instead, we now use “if you do” (or equivalent), or we put every conditional part into the same sentence with the relevant “if” clause.

So, we are applying an errata with immediate effect to Tsuki-Hime to match the original text and to use the most recent syntax, but correctly and in the right order.

New Text

·         At the beginning of each player's turn >>> If you control six Treasury Item entities with different names, all Treasury Item entities you control become [1000/1000] resonators until end of turn, then J/resonators you control gain [+1000/+1000] until end of turn. They are still their original type.

 

The Development Team