Descent into the Raven's Catacombs (E1) Questions & Answers

2025.08.22


Master Runes and Chant/Master runes

Question: Can I play two master rune cards in my rune deck?

Answer: No. You can only have one card with the “Master” general type on your rune deck, no matter if that card is a “Master rune” or a “Chant/Master Rune”.


Question: Can I play master rune cards in my deck?

Answer: Depends. You can only play rune cards without the addition or chant type in your rune deck. But you can play addition/master rune cards or chant/master rune cards in your deck.


Question: Is a master rune also considered as a rune?

Answer: Yes. “Master” is a general type that rune cards might have, but that doesn’t make it a different type of card. It is still a rune card for effect that checks on rune cards.




Immortal King of Sylthmir, Valgott (ESD1-001)

Question: If I control this ruler, a resonator with four [+100/+100] counters on it, and my opponent puts four [-100/-100] counters on that resonator, should I remove the [+100/+100] counters and the [-100/-100] counters from that resonator?

Answer: No, as they are considered [0/0] counters. Check rule 1203.3a for more information.




Unfounded Suspicions (ESD1-017)

Question: If I target a resonator with this rune, but before this rune resolves the resonator is no longer a valid target, should I look their controller’s hand?

Answer: As looking to their controller’s hand is related to the target, if the target is no longer a valid target, you cannot look their controller’s hand.




Knight-Captain of Velmardia (ESD2-002)

Question: I control a Knight resonator token. Then, I play Knight-Captain of Velmardia. I attack with my Knight resonator token two times (as it has gained [Defiant] (2).). Then, I return Knight-Captain of Velmardia to my hand, and I play it again. Can I attack two additional times with my Knight resonator token?

Answer: No. When you want to attack with a J/resonator with [Defiant] (X), you have to check how many times that J/resonator has attacked that turn, no matter how or when it has attacked. So, as you have already attacked two times with your Knight resonator token, you cannot attack more times in that specific situation.




Vestige of Velmardia’s Grace (ESD2-022)

Question: If I control a dual-attribute Light/Fire J/ruler, if I play the God’s Art ability of this magic stone, can this produce [W][R]?

Answer: No. You can only produce two wills of an attribute shared with a J/ruler you control, so, you will be able to produce [W][W] or [R][R].




Pusiel, Archangel of Purity (DRC-008)

Question: Can I chase the God’s Art ability of this resonator?

Answer: No. The “Players cannot chase to this card or its abilities.” Ability of Pusiel is a base ability, and it is applied in all areas. Check rule 904.2c for more information.




Slime of the Eternal Infestation (DRC-046)

Question: If I control two copies of this resonator, my magic stones will produce an additional [V][V] when I rest them to produce will?

Answer: Yes. They are two replacement abilities that can happen at the same time, one after the other.


Question: When it says “Put two [+100/+100] counters on this card for each different card type in my graveyard, if I control three resonator cards, one addition/rune card and one warden card in my graveyard, I put twelve [+100/+100] counters on this card?

Answer: No. You put two [+100/+100] counters one time for each different card type in your graveyard, being the card types “ruler”, “J-ruler”, “sub-ruler”, “magic stone”, “resonator”, “chant”, “addition”, “regalia”, “rune”, “order”, “warden” or “extension rule”. If a card has two card types, you can count that card one time for each card type.

Important: Not all of these card types can be found in the graveyard during a game.

So, in that situation, you put two [+100/+100] counters one time for the resonator, two [+100/+100] counters one time for the addition, two [+100/+100] counters one time for the rune, and two [+100/+100] counters one time for the warden. So, you put eight [+100/+100] counters in total.




First-Class Cook, Larinca (DRC-063)

Question: I lose 1000 life when I don’t remove fruit counters, or when I don’t put [+100/+100] counters on a resonator?

Answer: The structure of the text of certain abilities is “Trigger condition >>> Effect. If yes, X. If no, Y.”. So, in this situation, the trigger condition is “At the end of your turn”. The effect is “Remove a fruit counter from this card.”. The “if yes, X” section is everything before the dot, so “If you do, put two [+100/+100] counters on this card and on one resonator, then if you put counters on a resonator this way, draw a card.”. The “if no, Y” section is everything behind the dot, so “Otherwise, you lose 1000 life.”. You can apply this structure for other cards with similar structure.

If you don’t fulfil the effect (removing a fruit counter from Larinca), you lose 1000 life.




Hollow, Crystalline Doppelganger (DRC-084)

Question: If I use the activate ability of Hollow to transform it into another resonator, and after that in a different turn, I use the activate ability again to transform it into another different resonator, will it have the abilities of both resonators it has been transformed in?

Answer: No. If a card "becomes a copy" of another, it becomes the original card. It always makes the same object without any continuous effects on them. This is a continuous effect that change information. So, it will not have the abilities of the previous resonator, as it will become a the new one, without any information of being the previous one. Check rule 1017.5 for more information.


Question: And it gains multiple times the abilities of Hollow?

Answer: No, as it first becomes the chosen resonator, and then gains the abilities that its original card had.


Question: And if the chosen resonator has «Mythic», should I move to the graveyard one of them?

Answer: Yes, as Hollow copies the original card, including «Mythic» and the name, so, they both will be a resonator with «Mythic» sharing a name with another resonator with «Mythic».




Eternal Pact with Barust (DRC-092)

Question: If I want to use this extension rule, can I put four copies of Duke of Disaster, Barust, into my deck?

Answer: No, as the Eternal Pact with Barust speficies that you have to play exactly three, no more, no less.




Eternal Pact with Python (DRC-095)

Question: Who is Caelth? That ruler is not in Descent into the Raven’s Catacombs.

Answer: She is one of the students of the Raven’s Order. Read the lore articles in the official website if you want to know more about Ezold, Caelth or Threvn, characters that appear mentioned in the Extension Rules of Descent into the Raven’s Catacombs.


Question: Wil they appear in the future as rulers? Will they have their own pacts? Will the other demons that represent the seven deadly sins will appear in the future?

Answer: Yes! Ezold, Caelth and Threvn will appear very soon as rulers, and they will have their own pacts with the remaining archdemons, completing the eight deadly sins. Oh, and don’t worry, the five student rulers of Descent into the Raven’s Catacombs will be able to make pacts with these new archdemons too.




Starting Ruler – Rules update

Question: I have checked the Floor Rules, and it says “Players may not exchange their starting ruler”. Does that mean that I cannot change any of my rulers between games during a match?

Answer: Depends. It is explained in depth in rule 402.2.

402.2.     Each player prepares one ruler card. This ruler is the "starting ruler" of that player and will keep this status for that entire match, even through any kind of area movement, and even if somehow its information becomes hidden. Any ruler without the starting ruler status is considered a "non-starting ruler" for that entire match. Players cannot choose ruler cards with the Arcana race as their starting ruler or Basic Ruler cards as their starting ruler. If rulers with [Tag] or [Partner] are used, up to three ruler cards can be prepared, following the specific rules of these rulers, but the player would have to specify which one of their rulers is the “starting ruler”.

So, if you begin the game with one ruler, that ruler will be your “starting ruler”, and you will not be able change with another ruler from your sideboard between games during a match.

But if you begin the game with two or more rulers, you will have to specify which one is your “starting ruler”, and, between games during that match, you won’t be able to change that ruler with a ruler in your sideboard, but you will be able to change any other ruler.

So, if your starting rulers are “Aristella, Twin Prince” and “Child of the Darkness Moon”, if you choose as starting ruler “Aristella, Twin Prince”, you will be able to change “Child of the Darkness Moon” for “Child of the Wind Moon”.

But, if your starting ruler is “Helen, the Witch of Forgotten Memories”, as you should choose her as “starting ruler”, you won’t be able to change her for, let’s say, “Queen of the Eternal Eclipse, Giotto Sansta”.