Ten Oaths of Protopaterpolis' War (T4) Questions & Answers

2025.05.23


Keyword [Oath]

Question: If I play three spells with [Oath] “Heirs” during my turn, what will happen at the beginning of my next main phase?

Answer: At the beginning of your next main phase, all your [Oath] “Heirs” delayed automatic abilities will trigger, but only one will resolve. The delayed automatic ability of [Oath] cancels each other abilities you control in the chase when it resolves, so, it will cancel your other two [Oath] “Heirs” delayed abilities.

Question: So, even if I play multiple spells with [Oath] “NAME” during my turn, I will be able to play one of them at the beginning of my next main phase?

Answer: Yes, that’s correct. No matter how many spells with [Oath] “NAME” you play during your turn, you will be able to play only one of them at the beginning of your next main phase.

Question: Should I play immediately after resolving an [Oath] “NAME” delayed automatic ability the card from my removed area, or can I play it later during the same turn?

Answer: If you resolve an [Oath] “NAME” delayed automatic ability, you have to choose: to play that Oath card immediately or not to. If you don’t, you cannot play it and that card’s [Oath] trigger won’t trigger again.

 


Sphinx of the Godlike Sands (TOP-009) , Morgiana, the Wise Servant (AO3-037)

Question: Can I choose to apply the replacement effect of Morgiana, the Wise Servant instead of applying the replacement effect of Sphinx of the Godlike Sands?

Answer: Yes, if you are the player that would draw the card, you can. Both replacement effects are trying to replace the same original situation (here: drawing a card outside of the draw phase), so the player controlling that situation (here: the player that would draw the card) chooses one replacement effect and applies it. No matter which of the two is applied first, afterwards the other one cannot be applied anymore because there is no longer a card draw to replace.


Wang Sia, Spiritualist Witch (TOP-013) , For Regaining all Lost Knowledge…! (TOP-068)

Question: Can I choose to apply the replacement effect of Wang Sia, Spiritualist Witch, to both life gaining effects of For Regaining all Lost Knowledge…!?

Answer: No. “You gain X00 life plus an additional X00 life” is only one instance of life gain as there is only one instance of the verb “gain”. So, you can only apply the replacement effect of Wang Sia, Spiritualist Witch, once.


Fire Ant Gimmick of Aradia (TOP-019)

Question: If I control Fire Ant Gimmick of Aradia and a spell with the effect “Destroy all resonators.”, can I apply the replacement effect of Fire Ant Gimmick of Aradia to save one of my resonators?

Answer: Yes, you can. Replacement effects are applied before the original situation happens, so, in this case, before the mass destruction is applied to the resonators. At this point of time the Fire Ant Gimmick is still in the field, so the replacement effect of its continuous ability can be applied normally.

It would be different if the destruction effect had disjunct destruction events and the Fire Ant Gimmick would be destroyed first, like “Destroy target resonator. If you control a Fairy J/ruler, destroy a second target resonator.”.

 


Runic Witchcraft Nº3 (TOP-029)

Question: Can I reveal three Witch resonator cards with the same name from my sideboard?

Answer: No. When you reveal more than one card from a hidden zone, you reveal repeatedly that number of cards one by one from that zone. So, as Runic Witchcraft Nº3 specifies to reveal Witch resonator cards that doesn’t share a name with cards you own revealed outside the game, you cannot reveal three Witch resonator cards with the same name this way. We have clarified “reveal” on rule 1005.1.

 


Brenovin, Reborn by Flame (TOP-049)

Question: If when a resonator I control deals battle damage to another player, I can pay 500 life to draw a card, when a resonator I don’t control deals battle damage to me, its controller can pay 500 life to draw a card?

Answer: No. As you control the automatic ability of Brenovin, Reborn by Flame, you are never “another” player. So, resonators other players control will only be able to draw cards paying 500 life when dealing battle damage to a player other than you.


For Those who Need a Home…! (TOP-072)

Question: if I play and resolve this card three times, I would prevent the next 300, 400 and 500 damage (1200 in total) that would be dealt to me this game. If I am dealt 100 damage after that, will the 1200 be used to prevent that 100 damage, or just 100 damage prevention will be used?

Answer: This effect keeps counting the damage you are dealt and the damage it will prevent until end of game. So, if you resolve that card three times, you gain three different replacement effects that are applied individually in the order of your choice, one of each card you successfully resolve. So afterwards you can either prevent 300 damage or 400 damage or 500 damage during this game. If 100 damage are dealt to you after that, you can use any of them partially to prevent those 100 damage, and you will still prevent the next 1100 damage dealt to you this game.


Forgotten Forest of Fossils (TOP-074)

Question: Can I play four “Forgotten Forest of Fossils” and four “Aradia, HeAVEN of Æon” in my deck? And four “Forgotten Forest of Fossils” in my deck and four “Aradia, HeAVEN of Æon” in my sideboard?

Answer: Yes. While deckbuilding, between the deck, sideboard, extra deck, EX deck, and rune deck, you may have up to four copies of any card with the exact same name (unless specified in a card while deckbuilding), but in this situation, the name of card TOP-074 is “Forgotten Forest of Fossils” and the name of card TTT-034 is “Aradia, HeAVEN of Æon // Forgotten Forest of Fossils”, so they have different names, and you may play four “Forgotten Forest of Fossils” and four “Aradia, HeAVEN of Æon” in your deck and/or sideboard.

Question: If I control a Forgotten Forest of Fossils card on the field and expelled outside the game, how many times J-rulers I control with “Utsunes” in its name will gain the abilities of the additions and resonators with [Time] in their specified cost?

Answer: Only one time. When the game checks the abilities your J-ruler gains, if it gains abilities of gaining other abilities and it already have those abilities, those are not gained again. Check rule 909.1d for more information of this ruling.

 


Helen, the Witch of Forgotten Memories // Multidimensional Divine Witch, Helen (TOP-078 // TOP-078J)

Question: If I play the God’s Art ability of this Ruler, targeting a non-Witch, non-Wizard ruler, will the chosen target be referred as a ruler with astral condition when the God’s Art ability resolves?

Answer: No. As it doesn’t fulfil the condition of being a Witch ruler or a Wizard ruler, it won’t be referred as a ruler with astral condition when the God’s Art ability resolves.

Question: If I play the God’s Art ability of this Ruler, and this card is referred as a ruler with astral condition, will I perform its judgment process when it resolves?

Answer: No. Players are prohibited to play or perform a judgment process of a ruler with astral condition. We have clarified this in the rule 1039.1.

Question: If I play a Witch resonator spell or a Wizard resonator spell with [Consensus], will I perform its [Consensus] ability?

Answer: Yes. As [Consensus] ability is played in 702.3b, but the <Stolen Magic> ability of Helen is applied in 702.3d, the [Consensus] ability of any Witch resonator or Wizard resonator will be performed.

 


Wu Xiaohu, Motorized Cat (TOP-098)

Question: I’ve been waiting to ask this question so long: is Wu Xiaohu a cat? 

Answer: Yes, he has accepted that he is a cat. And also, this card is also a Cat sub-ruler.