Lehen, Legendary Explorer (TSD1-001) & Liberation of the Lights (JRP-007)
Question: Can I play Liberation of the Lights putting cards from my removed area in the bottom of their owner’s deck if a player controls Lehen, Legendary Explorer and/or Helen, Witch of the Ruins?
Answer: No, you can’t. The CR specifies that “If to pay the cost of a card there is an action that needs to be performed to reduce its cost, the cost of using that action is equal to the action that needs to be performed to do so.” So, for the purpose of the continuous effect of Helen’s/Lehen’s “Players cannot move cards from their removed area to another zone as a cost.” ability, the action of moving cards from the removed area to the bottom of the deck to reduce the cost of playing that spell is considered a cost, so that action cannot be performed, and the cost cannot be reduced this way.
Question: If while performing an Exploration effect I reveal Group of Explorers, can I play Group of Explorers from my removed area later during that game using the activate ability of Lehen, Legendary Explorer?
Answer: No. When Group of Explorer is revealed by an Exploration effect, their own ability is what puts them into the removed area, and not the Exploration effect. Thus, you cannot play them from your removed area using the activate ability of Lehen, Legendary Explorer, as it only allows you play cards from your removed area that were removed by an Exploration effect you performed.
Question: If there is a Spirit of the Mirage Ruins in the field, can I stack a card above another card, or will that card be expelled?
Answer: Depends. The ability of Spirit of the Mirage Ruins doesn’t affect a card stacked above a J-ruler by [Reincarnation], but will affect a card being stacked above an entity, like with the second activate ability of Cheshire Cat, the Pilgrinning in Wonderland.
Question: I control a water J-ruler and its Ruler side has [Judgment], but the J-ruler side doesn’t. If I choose option 2 of Statue of the Misty Dragon targeting a non-water J/resonator and it is rested this way, will its DEF become 0 until end of turn?
Answer: No. To fulfill the requirement you need to control a water Ruler with [Judgment] or a water J-ruler with [Judgment] (and there is only one water J-ruler with [Judgment]:The Time Spinning Witch (WOM-057J).).
Question: Can my opponent play chants or activate abilities during my main phase if I have played and resolved Cursed Mirror of the Snake using the third option?
Answer: Yes. Each player's main phase refers to the main phase of each player playing the game, so, in a Wanderer game, both players will be able to play spells and activate abilities during each player’s main phase.
Question: Can I use the second option of Cursed Mirror of the Snake to target a spell with printed total cost 1 if it has [Awakening], the [Awakening] cost has been paid and that cost is [1]?
Answer: Yes, you can. The CR specifies “If an effect or ability explicitely checks how many will has been paid to play a spell or ability by comparing the paid will to a number, and does not include the term "actual cost", it only checks the amount of will paid for the total cost, ignoring any additional costs paid to play that spell or ability for this check.” As Cursed Mirror does not include the term “actual cost”, it only checks the amount of will paid for the total cost, which in this case is one.
Question: Can I play and resolve a Cursed Mirror of the Snake paying only [B] if a Muse’s Staring at... was successfully resolved during the same turn?
Answer: You can play it, but it will be affected by the effect of Muse’s Staring at..., so it will not resolve. The CR specifies “If a replacement effect would replace a situation with a new situation that cannot happen, the original situation doesn't happen and the new situation doesn't happen.”. As [Untouchable] prevents cards from moving to another zone from the chase, and Muse’s Staring at... moves a card from the chase to the removed area if its cost wasn’t paid without reducing it, the following happens: Muse’s Staring at... is replacing the situation “resolving Cursed Mirror of the Snake” with the new situation “remove Cursed Mirror of the Snake from the game”, and as the new situation cannot happen, rule 910.2d will be applied and Cursed Mirror of the Snake will not be resolved, and will be put into its owner’s graveyard. It will not be expelled, because expelling itself is part of the specific resolution of Cursed Mirror of the Snake which is fully replaced.
Question: Can I remove two mana counters from Yokoshima HANADA while playing a Staff of the Nephilim to reduce its cost by [G] (as it is an Ancient Magic) and by [1] (as it has [Remnant])?
Answer: Yes, you can.
2√6 - Route to the Perfect Number (TTT-003) & Remnants of the Ruin (TTT-075)
Question: The last ability of 2√6 - Route to the Perfect Number uses “Rune” counters, and Remnants of the Ruin uses “Ruin” counters. Is that a mistake?
Answer: No, is not a mistake. When Helen found the route to the perfect number, what she found out was the “Remnants of the Ruin”, which was cursed, and she didn’t know that. She was looking for the “Remnants of the Rune”, which is a very different treasure that uses “Rune” counters (and also, a different card that is not yet released). Lucie, her daughter, is searching for her mother and for the “Remnants of the Rune”, at the same time.
Lyka, Stregheria of Beasts (TTT-016)
Question: Can I perform a Transcend process and a Judgment process on the same turn?
Answer: No, you can’t.
Question: Can I order a Lycanthrope resonator and then use it to Transcend with Therionmorphing or Night of Transcendence?
Answer: No, only a printed Lycanthrope J/ruler can Transcend. Right now, only Lyka, Stregheria of Beasts can perform Transcend processes. Please, read the CR update about the Transcend processes.
Question: Can I reduce the cost of Alchemics 101 by [B][B] using its [Linkage] ability?
Answer: Yes, you can.
Question: Can I draw a card when I play a card that has [Remnant] from my graveyard if I play that card without using its [Remnant] ability?
Answer: No, you cannot. The triggered ability of Utsunes only triggers if you play a card from your graveyard using its [Remnant] ability, because the “with [Remnant]” is a specification for “play”, not for “card”.
The answer would be different with the following wording: “Whenever you play a card with [Remnant] from your graveyard”. Here the “with [Remnant]” is a specification for “card”, not for “play”, so the card would need to have the [Remnant] ability, but whether or not the card is actually played with [Remnant] is not relevant for the trigger condition.
Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil (TTT-040) & Muse's Staring at... (CST-034)
Question: What happens if I attempt to put a Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil into the field using its automatic ability if a Muse’s Staring at... was successfully resolved during the same turn?
Answer: Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil says “This card cannot be removed from the game as long as it is in a public zone” and Muse’s staring at… replaces “Putting Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil” into the field with “Remove Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil from the game”. But as Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil is in a public zone (the graveyard) and cannot be removed from there, rule 910.2d will be applied and Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil will stay in the graveyard.
Question: Can Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil be targeted in the chase area?
Answer: As Remnanthropos Homo Titanephil says “This card cannot be targeted from the game as long as it is in a public zone” and the chase area is a public zone, no, it cannot be targeted in the chase area.
Horned God of Aradia (TTT-058) & Remnantherion Diruslupus (TTT-038) & Remnantherion Geniurus (TTT-039)
Question: If while playing Horned God of Aradia I remove two Remnantherion Disruslupus and two Remnantherion Geniurus from my graveyard, their abilities will trigger as they have been removed from the game by a card with [Remnant]?
Answer (2): Yes. The CR specifies “Any actions that would be performed to replace, increase or reduce the cost of a spell or ability are also considered a cost for the purpose of certain continuous effects that prohibit certain actions from being performed as a cost, but these actions are still considered part of the effect for all other purposes.”. So, as removing the Beast resonators is part of the effect, their abilities trigger.
Question: If I am dealt 1000 damage, and using the effect of Gandennia, Witch of Sympathy I deal 1000 damage to Gandennia’s Beloved Butler (destroying it), will the ability of Gandennia’s Beloved Butler trigger and resonators I control with “Gandennia” in their name will gain [+1000/+1000] until end of turn?
Answer: Yes, they will gain [+1000/+1000] until end of turn. The automatic ability triggers when damage is dealt to the Gandennia’s Beloved Butler, so it already triggered when the Rule Process determines that Gandennia’s Beloved Butler will be destroyed because of damage. Even though Gandennia’s Beloved Butler is no longer in the field, the automatic ability is still played because of CR 906.10.
Restraints of Empathy (TTT-054)
Question: A resonator my opponent controls is destroyed while having an added Restraint of Empathy I control, and the automatic ability of Restraint of Empathy triggers. Who will gain the 500 life?
Answer: The player controlling the Restraint of Empathy, as they ability triggers from the Restraint of Empathy, not from the resonator it is added to.
Work, But Not a Job (TTT-078)
Question: Which kind of will and how many will does my opponent produce if I play Work, But Not a Job targeting a chant with printed cost [D][2]?
Answer: If Work But Not a Job resolves, your opponent will produce [D][2].
Question: And If I target a card with printed cost [R][X]?
Answer: If Work But Not a Job resolves, your opponent will produce [R][X], where X will be the value determined while playing the spell.
Question: And If I that X has been paid using an alternative cost, lets say, removing cards from the game?
Answer: The value of X is determined by a number, no matter how it is determined. So, the previous answer is also the right answer to this question.
A∵A∵A∵ (TTT-068)
Question: If a battling resonator becomes a magic stone during combat, what happens?
Answer: Depends on which resonator becomes a magic stone. If it is the attacker and it is before a damage step, the attacking player goes directly to the end of battle step. If it is the blocking resonator, as it is no longer a resonator, it is not dealt damage.
Question: And if it is the attacked object?
Answer: If it is the attacked object, as it is no longer a resonator, it is not dealt damage.
Wu Xiaohu, Trained Tiny Tiger (TTT-079)
Question: Is Wu Xiaohu a Cat?
Answer: Usually, no. But he became a cat after Lyka used her magic on him, so, now, in the story of Trinity Cluster, he is indeed a cat. During a game, as its race is not Cat, sadly, he will be right.
Question: Ok! Now, a serious question: after seeing all the cards for Wu Xiaohu, it seems very fun but very complex to play. Which was the developers’ intent with this J/ruler?
Answer: This is the first J/ruler developed both for Wanderer and Arcana Battle Colosseum. We have updated the ABC rules so rulers with no attribute have their own ruler: “Arcana: Lord of Time”. It will be released later this year, with the ABC product. So, if you like Wu Xiaohu as much as we do, expect it to be very fun in ABC! (And, of course, it will get more support in upcoming collections of the Trinity Cluster).
Fragment of the Emerald Tablet (TTT-085)
Question: Does this card enter the field rested if I control exactly another magic stone named Fragment of the Emerald Tablet?
Answer: No. Fragment of the Emerald Tablet checks how many magic stones that share a name with it you control in 702.3b, before it is actually entering the field in 702.3c, so only when you already control two or more magic stones named Fragment of the Emerald Tablet will another magic stone sharing a name with them enter the field rested.