We are grateful that so many Rulers have already played ABC.
We will be contacting you with updates to the rules and a Q&A to ensure correct interpretation of the rules.
The rules can be found in the RULES section of the menu on this website.
The Q&A will be listed below.
Click here for ABC's CR
Update text for August 7, 2023
For one-time effects that have the text “your opponent controls” at what point do you determine which opponent you will be affecting with the spell or ability? (ABC CR 6.1)
An example effect for this would be “This card deals 1000 damage to each J/resonator your opponent controls.”
A) When the spell or ability is played or
B) When it is resolving?
C) For effects like this you do not choose a player as “your opponent”, as they affect the player to your left AND the player to your right at the same time
For "one-time effects" with the text "your opponent", you decide which opponent you're affecting when the spell or ability is played.
For continuous abilities with the text "opponent", both players on your left or your right are affected.
How does priority work in ABC? Both in regards to automatic abilities and playing spells/activate abilities:
A) When the active player passes, which player gets priority next? Is it clockwise around the table?
B) When the active players pass, and then the next player plays something and then passes as well, who will get priority next? The active player or does it then cycle around the table?
C) If automatic abilities of three or more players trigger at the same time, in what order are they added to the chase? Active player first, then clockwise around the table?
Whenever one or more priority process begins, they always begin from the active player. Then, when the active player pass priority, the next player in clockwise around the table gains the priority.
What happens if all player loses at the same time? e.g. The active player resolves MPR-034 “This card deals 300 damage to each player for each special magic stone that he or she controls.” and all players (including the active player) are reduced to 0 life or below by this effect.
If every player loses the game at the same time, the active player wins the game.
If a non-Arcana J-ruler with a convoke counter on it is attacked but put back into the ruler zone as a ruler by an effect before the Battle Resolution (805 or 806), will a convoke counter still be removed from that ruler? Or only if the attacked non-Arcana J-ruler is still in play during 805/806?
And is the answer different for a non-Arcana J-ruler without [ATK/DEF]?
As the card will still be the same card, it will be considered the same attacked object and yes, a convoke counter will be removed.
It is the same for a non-Arcana J-ruler without [ATK/DEF], as "Reflect, Child of Potential // Refrain, Child of Convergence".
For Magic Stone deck construction it states that your ruler must have the will symbol(s) that appear on the magic stone (3.4.3.). What are the rules for magic stones with characteristics, like Moon will or Time will?
As Moon and Time are not attributes, magic stones with those will symbols printed on them can be played as long as they fulfil the 3.4.3 rule.
So, yes, a Water Arcana magic stone deck can have Magic Stone of Time (WOM-120).
How will effects that change the target of a spell or ability work when their target has the wording “your opponent controls”? e.g. GOG-039: “Change the target of target spell or ability with a single target.”.
Example: I play a spell with the effect “Destroy target resonator your opponent controls.” and when choosing targets, I target a resonator of player A, which is the player to my left. Now player A plays GOG-039 to change the target of my spell.
Must they choose a resonator of player A, because when I played my spell, I chose “my opponent = player A”? Or can they retarget to a resonator of player C which is the player on my right, so also valid for “my opponent”?
When the target of a spell or ability is changed, it can only be changed to a legal target from the point of view of the caster. So, if a player (A) plays a spell with the effect "Destroy target resonator your opponent controls" they will choose a legal target between player (A)'s opponent. Then, if that spell or ability's target is changed, it has to be changed to a legal target between player (A)'s opponents.
How does Text2 of CMB-10 work in ABC? “J/rulers lose all activate or automatic abilities as long as your opponent controls two or more J/rulers.”
A) It will automatically check if the player to my left and/or the player to my right fulfills the condition.
B) It will combine the number of J/rulers of these two players, so that the condition is fulfilled if there is a total of 2 J/rulers for the player to my left AND the player to my right (e.g. they both just have 1 ruler, no J/rulers)
C) When CMB-010 enters the field, I select the player to my left OR the player to my right, and only that player will be checked for the condition of Text2 for the rest of the game.
As CMB-010 has a continuous ability, rule 6.3 makes card CMB-010 to check the next player on card CMB-010 controller's left and card CMB-010 controller's right.
Then, if one of those players has two or more J/rulers, the effect of card CMB-010 will be applied.
In regards to the new zone movement for rulers, what happens when I resolve Text2 of my TAT-014J? “: f there are no cards in your removed area, remove the top three cards of your deck from the game face down. You may look at them at any time.”
Now one of the three cards is a ruler: will it move face down to my removed area? Or will it be put outside the game?
As a face down card is not a public card, any ruler moving to any area face down will move and will remain there as long as they are face down.
Can «Tales» and «Villains» be in the same deck?
Yes, it is possible. "Arcana Battle Colosseum" Rules, section 3.1.3.
«Tales» and «Villains» can be in the same deck.
Update text for May 18, 2023
Is Dark Alice, Rabbit Princess (DBV-009) a legal card in ABC? Can you produce will that is not shared with the attributes of your Arcana J/ruler with Dark Alice, Rabbit Princess's ability?
Yes. There is no restriction about what kind of will can be produced by entities or spells or abilities.
The restriction about "printed will symbols" applies only while deckbuilding the Magic Stone deck.
A player cannot have Magic Stone of Moon Shade in their magic stone deck but a player can have Magic Stone of Knowledge in their magic stone deck if their Arcana is a Wind arcana.
Do ruler cards in the deck count as the 20 total cost 1 or less cards while deckbuilding?
No. Up to four ruler cards can be played in the deck, and exactly 20 total cost 1 or less cards can be played in the deck at the same time.
But rulers do not count as total cost 1 or less cards while deckbuilding (as in the sample decks).
So, a player can begin the game with 4 different non-Arcana rulers in the deck and other 20 total cost 1 or less cards in the deck.
Can I have a Rune deck while playing ABC?
No. Even if the CR does not classify the Rune Deck as an extra deck, a game of ABC is only played with an Arcana ruler, a deck of 60 cards and a magic stone deck of 12 to 20 cards.
A Rune deck, an deck, an (Strangers) deck, an Extra deck, a sideboard or any other kind of deck is not allowed in ABC.
Can I play multiple copies of Water Kimono of Twelve Parts (RDE-024)?
Yes, you can play multiple copies of any card in a deck of ABC if the card allows you to do so.
If a J/ruler has [Imperishable] and is destroyed, it is placed on the ruler area or is it placed outside the game?
If a J/ruler has [Imperishable] and is destroyed, depends:
· If the ruler is an Arcana type ruler, it is placed in the ruler area, as a ruler.
· If the ruler is not an Arcana type ruler, it is placed outside the game by rule process.
Can a ruler card be moved from a deck to the graveyard?
In ABC, this is how a ruler card can be moved:
If a ruler card has to move from a deck to a graveyard, it is placed outside the game by rule process.
If a ruler card has to move from a deck to a removed area, it is placed outside the game by rule process.
If a ruler card has to move from a deck to the field, it does not move.
If a ruler card has to move from a deck to a hand, it moves.
If a ruler card has to move from a hand to a graveyard, it is placed outside the game by rule process.
If a ruler card has to move from a hand to a removed area, it is placed outside the game by rule process.
If a ruler card has to move from a hand to the field, it does not move.
If a ruler card has to move from a hand to a deck, it moves.
If I put a ruler in the ruler area using a [Convoke] ability, can that ruler do [Judgment] or [Revolution Order] or be contracted that turn?
Yes, that ruler do [Judgment] or [Revolution Order] or be contracted that turn.
Using a [Convoke] ability, can I have multiple rulers at the same time in the ruler area?
Yes. You can have any number of rulers in the ruler area using a [Convoke] ability, putting one from your hand in the ruler area each time you use a [Convoke] ability.
The banned list and combination banned list of Wanderer applies to ABC?
No. ABC will have its own banned list and it will be published with the next banned list update.